Divergent Series, by Veronica Roth

Updated: Mar 31

Divergent, Insurgent and Allegiant come together to create an interesting view of a future society.

In these books Veronica Roth paints the scene for a new world, one which we can recognise as our own in some distant future, and which separates society by peoples natural skills, rather than their wants.

From the blurb;

'Our main character, sixteen-year-old Tris is introduced to us on the eve of her decision, which faction she will become. In this divided society, where everyone is forced to conform or become homeless, Tris does not fit in.

Tris makes a decision to leave the ones she loves and join a division which offers the thrills she so desperately craves. Shocked by her brutal new life however, Tris finds herself unable to trust anyone.

However hard she tries to remain unremarkable, however Tris finds herself drawn to a boy who seems both to hate her and to want to protect her.'

We follow Tris through this three book series as the world she knows changes and re-shapes into something unrecognisable. What happens is partly Tris’s fault, but where she is to blame for many of the tragedies she is also the key to a brighter future.

This series is a ride, written with great care and detail. However, the end leaves readers feeling a bit deflated. Where the first two books are full of power, fight and a need to discover the truth, the final novel is a story of control, brutal reality and the need for power.

Roth successfully creates well-rounded characters, flawed by the naivety of youth where others are blinded by the riotousness of age and power. A delicate balance between right and wrong, truth and lies, these books will leave you feeling conflicted about the rights and wrongs in society.

We Give The Divergent Series Two Stars


ISBN – 978-0-00-742042-1 Cover price - £7.99


ISBN – 978-0-00-744292-8 Cover price - £7.99


ISBN – 978-0-00-752427-3 Cover price (hard-back) - £12.99

5 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All