His Fair Assassin, by Robin LaFevers

Updated: Feb 16, 2020

This glorious three part series will leave readers full of adrenaline.

Grave Mercy, Dark Triumph and Mortal Heart are the stories of three connected assassins in Brittany 1485.

The series kicks off with possibly its strongest main character Ismae, trained as an assassin by the god of death. When Ismae is sent to the court of Brittany, on her first mission, she finds herself woefully unprepared, not only for the games of intrigue and treason that make up the courts, but for the impossible choices she must make.

We join Ismae as she fights against her duty and her heart, determined to fulfil Death’s will.

We follow her on a dangerous journey of romance and murder.

Grave Mercy is a phenomenal start to a series made up of strong female main characters who are lethal, beautiful, intelligent and witty. These novels definitely do not bore, keeping the reader sustained on beautifully described action and intrigued by historical fact which is laced throughout.

Following Grave Mercy, Dark Triumph gives readers another blast of this stunning action and thrill as we join main character Sybella at the doorstep of St. Mortain, half mad with grief and despair.

Sybella is a beautiful contrast to Ismae, and ensures readers that LaFevers can write a range of glorious characters. The power in Dark Triumph however comes from the despair that Sybella goes through, the pain and anguish of her life.

We join her as she is thrown back into the hell she thought she had escaped by the very people who saved her from it and can only follow in awe of her bravery and skill as she takes on her own revenge.

The series is finished with a bang in Mortal Heart, where it is obvious that LaFevers is winding back the assassins throughout the three books, main character Annith is still full of fire and desperate to prove herself on the battle field, if only she were given the chance.

It is through this final novel that we get a true glimpse into the death that LaFevers imagines, and are given true empowerment as Annith strikes out on her own.

A glorious series that will leave readers begging for more, His Fair Assassin is not one to be missed.

We Give His Fair Assassin Five Stars

Grave Mercy;

ISBN – 978-1-84939-413-0 Cover price - £6.99

Dark Triumph;

ISBN – 978-1-84939-575-5 Cover price - £7.99 Available as an eBook

Mortal Heart;

ISBN – 978-1-78344-178-5 Cover price - £7.99 Available as an eBook

5 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All